Battambang Security Co-ordination Manual


Return to Contents

  Next Page --->

II. Contributors


The departure of UNTAC in September 1993, brought a drastic change in the security situation of North West Cambodia, particularly in Battambang Province. This insecurity has come in the form increased ground fighting, artillery, terrorist bombings, banditry, and hostage threats. The necessity to replace UNTAC as the security coordinating body here as well as the demand to build a collaborative security management system has given birth to the UN / INGO Co-ordination network and the creation of this manual.

The security protocols found in this manual are the functioning systems of UN / INGO agencies in Battambang Province. The district security co-ordination system has been tested almost daily this dry season and the city security coordination system has been activated on many occasions.

In April 1994, Mitch Carlson, former UN ASC and John Cleland, former UN FSO encouraged the completion of the Phase Plan/Indication Chart for gradual evacuation of expatriates from Battambang City. In October 1994, John Cleland and Richard Manlove, UN security adviser, approved the District security coordination protocol and supported our efforts to coordinate the UN with the INGOs. In early I995, Jean Francois Faivre / UN FSO, approved the City security coordination protocol and encouraged me to standardise the Phase Plan in accordance to the UN Phases as well as inspiring me to organise all written material into one security co-ordination booklet. In particular, UNHCR country Representative Serge Ducasse, has approved my work with UN / INGO Area Security Coordination and has supported the completion of this manual.

Tom Petocz / IRC, was the first INGO security management chairperson. Our original UN / INGO security management team members included Norman Stewart / CMAC, Shorty Coleman / CMAC, Justin Byworth / WVI, Horse Mansel / CMAC, Richard Rowat / RCG, Lori Dostal / CRS, Karl McQuillian / CMAC, Herve Bernard / ANS, and Ann Moran / MAG. Our original group was crucial in the joint UN / INGO co-ordination of a safe and organised evacuation from Battambang city in May 1994.

Implementation of the UN / INGO district security co-ordination protocol was first applied in mid 1994, by Horse Mansel / CMAC, Norman Stewart / MAG, Russell Bedford / MAG, Lori Dostal / CRS, Heng Bunseth / CRS, Ruth Ash / WV I and Martyn Jordan / MAG. The district security coordination system has proven to be reliable tool and continues to be effective today. Twelve evacuations from the districts has been recorded by the district security coordinators in the first half of 1995 alone.

Members of the joint security management team continue to spend many hours a week in UN / INGO collaborative meetings ensuring participatory management. The current INGO chairperson is Russell Bedford / MAG and Ruth Ash / WVI, is the chairperson alternate. Our active UN / INGO security management team is twice the size of the original group consisting of Nonnan Stewart/MAG, Lori Dostal / CRS, Nerida Nettlebeck / WVI, Sara Guthrie / CARERE, Leo Goulet / CARERE, Barbara Greenwood / IRC, David / IRC, Bernard Herve / ANS, Ray Sano / CARERE, Trond Kaalsaas / NPA, Frode Granaas / NPA, Stefan Carlson / NPA, David Strong / CAMA, Martin Fisher/WFP, Ed Geers / ICMC, Pisit Tusanasorn / ILO, Yves Coyette / MSF, Richard Rowat / RCG, Olivier Guie / ANS, and Grace Eckman / CAMA. In addition, Grace Eckman has recently organised a medical response team consisting of 13 international medical volunteers and plans to complete a medical response protocol.

Our ability to work together should serve as a successful model of UN / INGO collaboration and an example of participatory application of security systems for development / relief staff members working in a war zone.


J. Andrew Pendleton

UN / INGO Emergency Response Coordinator

UNHCR Field Officer

Battambang, Cambodia

1 April, l995


Return to Contents   Next Page---->